Bad Jupiter Images.

Well, I did manage to get some images of the triple moon transits on Jupiter.  However, the seeing was so unbelievably unsteady that they are all really fuzzy.

I will try to clean them up some more and see if I can draw some more detail out of them.  In the mean time, you can see what it was supposed to look like from the Hubble image above.

I do consider this a successful outing because I am probably the worst planetary imager of all time.  This is actually the first time that I have gotten  images of Jupiter this good.  I experimented the day before with my setup, but found that I couldn’t use the planetary camera I purchased because I couldn’t get Jupiter on the chip.  It’s a size thing.  Being used to large format imaging chips has spoiled me because they are a lot more forgiving.

I have yet to capture the giant red spot, but I should hurry as it is shrinking away at about 580 miles per year.  That means I only have a few decades to get a good image.  Provided that it doesn’t suddenly start growing again.

But with this success, I learned a lot and I am determined to get some good images of as many planets as I can this year.  Just like making it to Carnegie Hall, all it takes is practice.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +, or by email.

Norman

Leave a Reply

