The Arizona Science & Astronomy Expo, Part 1…The Journey.

We start our story out with..

THE JOURNEY.

Most journeys are uneventful, I wish I could say the same about this one.  After packing the car and backing out of the garage, I noticed a big ‘thing’ sticking out of the passenger front tire.  Not wanting to get stuck and still having plenty of tire pressure I drove to the local tire store, where I was told it would be about an hour.  Fine, I decided to eat breakfast at the local Denny’s.  Well, it was Denny’s, I think I haven’t eaten there in so long I had forgotten how….average, the food is that they serve.  Oh well, it killed the hour.  I went back, tire fixed (no charge thanks to tire protection plan).  On the road again.

Drove until lunch and decided to stop at a Cracker Barrel to eat.  I haven’t ever actually eaten at a Cracker Barrel before, but I think they are trying to give Denny’s a run for their money on average food.  Fill up with gas (petrol, not from Cracker Barrel) and head towards my ultimate destination…the hotel.

But alas, it wasn’t to be that easy.  About 25 miles outside of Tucson, the tire pressure warning light suddenly comes on!  Dang, I thought, I just had that tire fixed!  However, it was a different tire.  There was no flat fixer or limping into town for this one, the tire had split in the tread.

Stuck.

Luckily, I have AAA.  Unluckily, I got a very new person on the phone…”No, there isn’t a child locked in the trunk.  Yes, for the fourth time, I have a flat tire…etc.”  This went on for about 1/2 an hour when finally I get word that the tow truck is on the way.  BTW, this never happens with the California AA, it only seems to happen with the Arizona AAA from what I was told by others.  Anyway, get a call from the tow truck company…”All the tire stores will be closed by the time I get you to Tucson, you’ll have to rent a car.”

WTF?  Luckily, I have a phone with a browser, called the local Pep Boys (love Pep Boys), yes, they have the tire in stock, no they won’t be closed and can fix the tire.  Arrive at Pep Boys at 6:10…tire changed and back on the road…6:30.  At the hotel at 7:30 after dinner.

THE THIRD TRAJEDY

Well bad news always comes in threes according to the tales, my journey was no different.  The third mishap that happened that day was probably the hardest to stomach…I was so bowled over, I almost couldn’t handle it…I didn’t win the lottery.  I mean really, after everything that had happened that day, just a tiny little bit of good news (like I had won 281 million dollars) wasn’t too much to ask, was it?   Oh, well.  Bed time and a fresh start in the morning.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

