The Partial Eclipse…Partially Captured.

Now that I have just about recovered from a great Nightfall, it is time to start posting the fruits of my sleepless days and nights in Borrego Springs.

Eclipse

As I arrived on Thursday afternoon, I was just in time to catch some of the partial eclipse.  However, I was just arriving and it takes about an hour to set everything up.  Luckily, I have been preparing for this day and I whipped out my camera bag and attached my already set up solar capture lens train consisting of a manual 200mm lens, with and ND 1100 filter on the front and a Kenko 2X tele-extender on the back to my Canon EOS-M camera.  A quick tripod setup and I managed to focus (somewhat) on the solar events.  Not the best focus, but after three plus hours driving, my eyes weren’t the best.  Also, I forgot to magnify the image on the screen to get a better focus.  That happens when you are rushing.

 

 

Anyway, I also took a movie.  You can see the sunspots change during the minute long film.  All this event lacked was a coronal mass ejection and it would have been a trifecta of infinite proportions.  BTW, the next day there was a spectacular CME.  Oh well, it was still great.

 

 

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

