And So It Begins…Nightfall Has Arrived.

Once again, I am making my pilgrimage to astronomical nirvana by attending Nightfall.  This year’s event is going to be a show stopper.  Not only is there the usual advanced courses available, this year there is a another complete track for not-so-advanced astronomers.

Also, our sponsor, Woodland Hills Telescope will also have astronomical goods on sale during the event.  This is great because I can’t tell you how many time that I forget that one piece of equipment/cable/something that my entire rig depends on to function.  Not only does this make me VERY angry, it also makes me go to the nearest astronomy store (about 80 miles away through the mountains, still closer than home) to get it.  Not this year.

I will be giving a talk, along with fellow Riverside Astronomical Society member Daniel Perry, about mirror-less cameras and astrophotography.  Daniel recently picked up a Sony A7s, which has great low light sensitivity (not any of the other A7 models, just the A7s).  While I will be talking about my significantly less expensive Canon EOS-M, which also has great low light capabilities.  There are advantages and disadvantages to each one.

I will also be manning the Solar Pavilion with always popular Lunt 152mm solar scope.  I will also have my Lunt 60mm solar scope and a Coronado PST.  We are only supposed to be open for about an hour, but it always turns into an all day event.  Thank goodness for pop-up shade tents.

I hope to see you there, but in any case, I will have plenty of images from the event for you next week (if I survive the trip and the event).

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

