Look At The Pretty Light.

In preparation for the upcoming Nightfall event, I took my modified Canon Rebel T2i out in the back yard to take some solar images.

This time I decided to try something different.  I have a 200mm f8.0 Opteka mirror lens (catadioptric) manual focus lens.

ROCOLAX-72mm-ND10000-Optical-Neutral-Density-ND-13-Stop-Filter-for-Camera-Lenses

An ND 10000x filter on the front of the lens.

And a Kenko 2x teleconverter to attach the lens to the camera.

IMG_6316 (modified) IMG_6318 (modified)

Two different exposures done without much in the way of focusing on my part (this was just a test), but the results were pretty good for single images taken without a solarscope on a shaky tripod just to prove a point.

Another interesting thing about these images is that no commercial software was used to download or process the images.  It was all done on a Mint Linux 17 machine using DCRaw plugins, the default camera import program gThumb and RawTherepee and GIMP for the image processing.  With a little practice (and perhaps some stacking (I will be using Regim an open source stacking program), I should be able to obtain even better results.  Probably the best thing I can do, however, it to spend more than a second focusing (it is HOT out there!).

The reason that I am doing all this is that I will once again this year be co-hosting the Solar Pavillion at Nightfall on Saturday.  Technically, we are only supposed to be open for an hour, but in the last two years we have done this, the line starts forming about two hours before and it goes all day.  Last year we even had requests to open on Sunday.

I will take some more solar images tomorrow with my Canon EOS-M as I need some more images for my Friday talk on mirrorless cameras for astrophotograpy, the high and low ends of the spectrum.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

