First Images With The New Observatory Roof.

Finally!  After what seemed like months and months of work (4 weekends about 5 hours each due to the weather).

The new roof has been completed and had its first night-time roll off and imaging session.  /<insert Muppet flail here>/  BTW, it works great and added 15 degrees to my northern view (although some would say there is nothing to image in the North, but I digress).

My accomplishment is a personal triumph akin to the Great Wall, the Taj Mahal, and the Pyramids.  At least in my mind.

NGC_6995 (small)

So after the successful roof launch, I aimed my camera and voila!  An image appeared.  After such a long time, I wasn’t sure that everything would still work, but it did.  Now if I could only remember what I took an image of.  If you can help, I can provide at least one hint:  it is an NGC object in the Northern hemisphere beginning with a 6.  That should narrow it down.

Triffid (small)

Then I went south to a more familiar object, the Triffid nebula.  I still don’t know what a triffid is other than a science fiction novel I read when I was young.

Veil (small)

I finished the evening back in the North with the veil nebula (a classic).

I think these are pretty good single shot, non stacked images with only minor color correction applied.  When I get time, I’ll run them all through the astroimaging process and they should be a lot better.

But for now, muppet flails all around!

 

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

One thought on “First Images With The New Observatory Roof.

Leave a Reply

