The Best Picture In (of) The Universe.

Someone once told me that I was wasting my time doing astrophotography.  If all I wanted was beautiful deep sky images, all I had to do was search the Hubble site.

Composite image showing the visible and near infrared light spectrum

Although I will never take an image like the Hubble, I can strive to achieve the best images possible.  As another person put it: its not the destination, but the journey that counts.  So I will keep shooting the night sky and trying new ideas in my quest for astroimaging glory.

The latest addition is the Hubble Ultra Deep Field 2014 image.  It is a composite of separate exposures taken in 2003 to 2012 with Hubble’s Advanced Camera for Surveys and Wide Field Camera 3.

Astronomers combined the full range of colors available to Hubble in this image, from the ultraviolet to the near-infrared spectrum. The image was made from 841 orbits of telescope viewing time and contains an estimated 10,000 galaxies, extending back in time to within a few hundred million years of the big bang.

Dang it.  Now I feel the need to buy a bigger telescope!

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

