Cell Phone Astrophotography Trials.

It was a pretty good weekend at the Riverside Astronomical Society’s monthly Star Party.

IMG_2054

IMG_2055

Dusk settling over the observing field.

IMG_2056

Setting up equipment.

IMG_2058

Where are we?  Knowing the Latitude and Longitude is important for astronomy.  P.S. the coordinates for GMARS are here.

IMG_2059

Lots of people attended.

IMG_2065

No, seriously where are we?  (or how many astronomers does it take to change a light bulb? Four, three to look it up and one to enter it into the computer. )

IMG_2067

The Scoutmaster for Boyscout Troop 421 from Corona testing out my binocular/cellphone imaging setup.

IMG_2070

Other Scouts attempting to set up camp.

IMG_2072

Success!  Lots of different cellphone took some great images of the Moon as it set in the west.  They promised to send me copies, so I will post them as soon as I get them.

IMG_2063

The Moon from my Canon G12.

IMG_2076

Jan making short work of the Moon with her Nikon while hubby stays out of the way.

iphone_merged.jpg

The Snapzoom device works great and I am excite to start using this for outreach (you can purchase yours here, but I was able to get mine at the Starlight Festival last week for $5 less.)  It is great and adapts to almost any cell phone.  We have had a Samsung Note 3 and my Note 2 and everything small attached using the snapzoom.  I am not sure if the Mega will fit (I didn’t have access to one to find out), but it is still a great device.

Now I just need someone to make a dedicated solar binocular (not just filters) and my outreach plans will be complete.

Next time, I have to try some long term cellphone astrophotography.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

