Starlight Festival Recap.

So I traveled up to Big Bear to the Starlight Festival to check everything out.

1

It was a pleasant day and the weather cooperated by not raining, snowing or otherwise making me miserable.

2

The front entrance to the Starlight Festival.

18 19 20

A panorama from the stage.

15

Right behind the stage was the entrance to the hotel and workshops being guarded by a blow up Curiosity Rover, thank the JPL who where in attendance.

16

Someone brought along a small Dob to show off.

11

One of my favorite bi-monthly magazines.  You can subscribe here, for a very reasonable price for all the latest equipment and astronomical techniques.  Highly recommended.

4 4a

My friend John from TeleVue.  He had a new device for attaching a cell phone to binoculars for imaging.  I couldn’t resist and had to buy one.  STRICTLY for doing outreach mind you, I would never buy something like this for myself.

10

My favorite booth, Lunt Solar scopes and Lunt Engineering.

14

Have one of these 152mm Solar scopes, the views are awesome.

13

New 50mm Solar scope, need to get one of these for outreach.

21

Lots of kid friendly activities for kids.  Here they are making air rockets to shoot skyward.

6

A tent set up to get kids interested in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics).

8

Small robots for STEM promotion.

7

Real live interactive robot ala Short Circuit.  Lots of fun for those of us that know the movie and fun for the kids that didn’t.

5

Sidewalk astronomers came prepared to grind out the day answering questions about grinding (no, not the Miley Cyrus type of grinding, the astronomical kind).

3

An observatory dome near the front entrance as I prepared to take my purchase home for a test spin.

A very enjoyable time, if they have it again, I highly recommend going.  Also, they have other events around the country so check out their website for dates and times near you.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

