Off To The Show.

I am heading out this morning to the RTMC and the Starlight Festival. I have gone to the bank just in case there is some little astronomical trinket that I cannot live without, and packed my camera.  I should have some photos for you for next weeks posts.

I hope those of you that can make it stop me and say hello if we meet.  You may not recognize me without the suit, but the face is a great give away.  That and the fact that I might have some drool out the corner of my mouth if I am near any of the high-end astronomy equipment (gee ma, it’s only $10,000 for that astrocamera!).  Of course my mantra usually is:  “I’m happy with my setup, I’m happy with my setup, I’m happy with my setup…”  As any of you that have any sort of hobby were equipment is involved (baking, RC vehicles, etc.), that mantra is a lie.  You can never have too much or not need the latest and greatest.  I think the thought goes like this: “If I have this one (or more) new piece of equipment, I’ll be able to do X, or I will finally be able to do Y, or I will have everything I need to accomplish my goal of Z!”  Really, that one thing will make me better at, or finally able to do the pinnacle of my hobby!  I’ll be able to turn professional!

Such are the dreams of hobbyists everywhere.  Never give up your dreams for the mundane.

Have a safe and festive holiday if you are in the U.S., and don’t forget to remember our veterans on Monday, we have a lot more now in need of help and acknowledgement than we have had since WWII.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

