WARNING! Don’t Go to Bed Earlier.

You may be familiar with the Higgs Boson.  The Large Hadron Collider has found evidence that it does exist and Peter Higgs is now a Nobel laureate for his work on this.

However, he did miss out on being part of the group that was credited for devising the Standard Model (commonly called the “theory of everything”).

In 1960, then Professor Higgs was in conversation with physicists Shelley Glashow, Abdus Salam and Steven Weinberg.  The latter three received a Nobel prize in 1979 for ideas that lie at the heart of the Standard Model.  Had Professor Higgs not been tired and gone to bed, he could have been a double Nobel winner.

So the moral of the story is: Going to bed early doesn’t pay, stay up late, drink and think about the theory of everything.  I believe I have done that in my youth, but I never got a Nobel prize for it.  Perhaps if I had shown my work….

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

Leave a Reply

