Nightfall Recap.

So I am showing some shots of my 20th annual Nightfall experience.  It was a wonderful time.

1

Passing by the San Diego Wild Animal Park.

2

At the top of the Anza Borrego basin, looking down about 3,500 feet.

4

Borrego Springs from on high.

3

A plaque dedicated to the people who donated this land.

5

Don’t fall over the edge, it is a long way down.

6

The Solar Pavillion, where on Saturday, I helped people enjoy the view of the Sun with my 60mm Lundt solar scope.  Although, Mike’s 152mm Lunt scope had far better views.

13 12 11 10 9 8

Although I couldn’t get my camera to take great shots, I was able to image the sun using eyepiece projection.  It was really active on Saturday.  Lots of sun spots, flares, prominences, and a couple of loops.

18

19

After the Solar Pavillion closed down for the day, we had our pot luck dinner.

21 20

But everything was not to be.  Saturday afternoon the clouds rolled in and messed up imaging for the night.  It did make for some nice sunset pictures though.

22

Early Sunday morning on my way back, I stopped to take a picture of Mt. Palomar observatory that you can see for miles around in this area.

Until next year!

The time lapse did not happen 😦 for a variety of reasons, but hopefully next year will be different.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney in Pasadena, California and I am a Rising Star as rated by Super Lawyers Magazine.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities. Connect with me on Google +

Norman

One thought on “Nightfall Recap.

Leave a Reply

