What I Learned This Weekend

It can get COLD while doing astronomy.  Really, cold.  I haven’t been this cold since I left Colorado.  Luckily, where I was had zero moisture in the air, so despite being below freezing there wasn’t any snow or frost.  However, I did not use any lotion, and I think every pore of my skin is now cracking open.

I rubbed my leg through my pants (big mistake) and now have, what looks like, a 3″ road rash on my shine.  Evidently, denim can also act as sandpaper in the right circumstance. I am afraid to scratch or rub anything else for fear of opening other wounds.

I also learned that there are a great number of nebula that I have yet to image.  I found an intriguing nebula, NGC 2174, also known as the Monkey Head Nebula located in the constellation Orion.  I haven’t imaged in Orion for awhile, because I think everyone has at least a dozen shots in their portfolios of the great nebula.  Of course, I can’t find my images of the big O nebula to share with you at the moment.  So instead, here is a quickly (and badly) processed image of the Monkey Head that I did manage to take while freezing my ass off.

Monkey (DD)

I promise a better version when I can process the data.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities.  Connect with me on Google +

Norman

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I Learned This Weekend

  1. Cold weather has a way cracking open the skin. That’s why I prefer to be a warm weather observer with my telescope. It has to be special to get me out on a cold night.

Leave a Reply

