Guilty Pleasure.

Ok, so I may have been holding out on you, but one of my favorite guilty pleasures is an online comic strip called xkcd.  Below is one of the strips that has been getting attention (more than usual) by the likes of NPR.  I, however, find that I will read the strip of the day and burst out laughing.  But when I show it to the non-technical people in the office (read non-geeks, yes I speak geek fluently), they give me a perplexed look.  Much like I get when I say that there are only 10 types of people…those that understand binary and those that don’t (I love that old joke too).  I may be revealing too much, but part of being a patent attorney is being a geek in your field first.

up goer

However, in the never ending battle of labels, I don’t want to leave out my nerd brethren.  Although the debate rages on, the infographic below attempts to differentiate between geeks and nerds.  I must admit to being bi-nerdal (part geek, part nerd), I just can’t help myself.  There is too much science, science fiction, math, computers, games and other interesting things in the universe.  I just wish I had time to learn it all.

Geeks vs Nerds

My latest obsession is with the Raspberry Pi (if I ever get my order!) and Arduino (now that the new Arduino Due that was just released).  Between astronomy and trying to keep up with all the changes in the law, I just don’t have enough time to devote to my pursuit of learning.

I always wanted to be a professional student, but the pay as an attorney is much better.  Although the hours are longer and not as much fun, I just have to remember my favorite thought: “A day without learning something new is a wasted day.”  Strive to improve yourself a little bit everyday and you’ll surprise yourself.

So what does this mean to you.  Well, if you have an invention that you need help to patent, a brand or logo to trademark or copyright protection for the next science fiction bestseller (like battlespace), you will know that a passionate, caring person is there to help you make your ideas a reality.

– Ex astris, scientia –

I am and avid amateur astronomer and intellectual property attorney.  As a former Chief Petty Officer in the U.S. Navy, I am a proud member of the Armed Service Committee of the Los Angeles County Bar Association working to aid all active duty and veterans in our communities.  Connect with me on Google +

Norman

 

3 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasure.

Leave a Reply

